Grzegorz Nowakowski

Greg Nowakowski, M.D., is a consultant and a Professor of Oncology and Medicine, Division of Hematology at Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota, where he also serves as the Director of Cancer Clinical Research Office, Vice-Chair of Lymphoma Group and the Chair for Education and the Advanced Hematology Fellowship Program Director.

Dr. Nowakowski is an internationally recognized researcher and leader in management of hematological malignancies, novel therapeutics, and clinical trial design. Dr. Nowakowski serves as a principal investigator of multiple investigator-initiated and cooperative group clinical trials (ECOG, Alliance) and industry sponsored studies. He currently serves and a member of ECOG Lymphoma Core Committee. Dr. Nowakowski also chairs the Lymphoma Committee and Hematological Malignancy Program in the Academic and Community Cancer Research United (ACCRU) network. He serves as the Chair of ASH Clinical Trial Innovation Subcommittee, the chair of ASCO Research Community Forum and the chair of ASCO Clinical Trial Access and Participation Taskforce. Dr. Nowakowski has significant regulatory experience, both serving as a PI of regulatory studies and working with regulatory agencies, including his service as a Voting Member of the Oncology Drugs Advisory Committee (ODAC) to the Food and Drug Administration (FDA). He is an investigator in University of Iowa/Mayo Clinic Lymphoma Specialized Center of Research Excellence program, where he leads the Career Enhancement Program. He serves on number of advisory and disease strategy advisory boards to industry. Dr. Nowakowski has authored over 240 articles and numerous book chapters and has mentored many faculty members in US and abroad.

Dr. Nowakowski received his MD from the Medical University of Warsaw, Poland. He completed his internal medicine residency at Yale University Medical School – Norwalk Hospital, Norwalk, Connecticut and his fellowship in Hematology and Medical Oncology at Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minnesota. Dr Nowakowski joined the Mayo Clinic Lymphoma Group in 2006 as a Mayo Foundation Scholar. He is an alumnus of the American Society of Hematology (ASH) Clinical Research Training Institute and American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO) Leadership Development Program.